I have most of my boys up for sale on Preloved (a UK website). I don’t want to sell all of them but even I have to admit I possibly have a couple too many. Anyway, I received a message regarding my Cream Legbars on Sunday morning. The request was very specific. Jack in Norfolk is “looking for a genuine Cream Legbar, not hybrid or mixed or different. (he is) looking for the one breed by Reginald Crundall Punnett and Michael Pease at the Genetical Institute of Cambridge University or same gene.” I did my best to explain the provenance of the breeding trio that produced my current crop of chux, but I strongly suspect I didn’t convince him. I couldn’t resist Googling Reggie and apparently he was a geneticist who lived from 1875 to 1967. Good luck with that one, Jack! But if anyone is selling a cockerel that meets that – very specific – criteria, let me know and I’ll try and put you in touch!

